An Opportunity for English Language Learning and Enhancement

Global Viewing Party: “The March”

Monday, August 26, 2013 06:00 EDT (10:00 UTC) 14:00 MSK

Live webchat URL: https://conx.state.gov/live-event/globalviewingparty

Description: Join us for a live and interactive virtual film screening of The March, a 1964 documentary by James Blue about the 1963 civil rights March on Washington.  The program will open with brief remarks from John Robinson, Director of the Office of Civil Rights at the U.S. Department of State.  Mr. Robinson will introduce the 30-minute film, which will be streamed online in its entirety.  After the film, stay for a virtual discussion with Washington, D.C.-based civil rights experts who will answer your questions and comments submitted online before or during the program.

The March is a documentary that examines one of the largest political rallies for human rights in United States history.  The March on Washington called for civil and economic rights for African Americans.  It took place in Washington, D.C. on Wednesday, August 28, 1963.  During the march, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. stood in front of the Lincoln Memorial and delivered his historic "I Have a Dream" speech advocating for racial harmony.

Format:  This program will be a live film screening and interactive video webchat in English.  Please click on the URL above to participate.  We encourage you to visit the website early to check out relevant content and materials surrounding Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and his famous “I Have a Dream” speech.

Добавить комментарий

Войти с помощью: 

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

Скачать телефонный справочник России.